Not So Sweet After All (Or Why I No Longer Use Splenda)

Last year, I discovered that my go-to artificial sweetener, Equal was no good for anyone with an MSG allergy. Equal and I said our sad goodbyes and I found love again shortly thereafter in the arms of what I believed was a wonderful replacement, Splenda. Little did I know our sweet love affair was doomed from the start.

Splenda is derived from Sucralose, an artificial sugar substitute. Sucralose was discovered in 1979. Splenda was introduced in the United States in 1999. Common brand names of sucralose-based sweeteners are Splenda, Zerocal, Sukrana, SucraPlus, Candys , Cukren, and Nevella. Splenda is extremely popular in the United States and around the world, due to the fact that it comes from a natural food source, is calorie-free, has no aftertaste, and, you can cook and bake with it — because unlike Equal, Splenda does not break down in high heat. 

Splenda is used by food companies to sweeten thousands of food products from powdered drink mixes to cereals. In 2015, PepsiCo replaced Aspartame with Splenda in all of its diet drink products.

Splenda is about three times sweeter than Aspartame (Equal). I stopped using Equal last year after finding research which showed Aspartame can trigger MSG allergies.

I’ve had to abandon Splenda for the same reason. It turns out that Splenda contains Maltodextrin. Maltodextrin, derived from corn, is an MSG allergy trigger. In my earlier blog entry, “The Menace That Is Maltodextrin,” I discussed how this filler is used in thousands of food products around the world. And how even though it is derived from a natural food source, and used by athletes in training, it is lethal to anyone with an MSG allergy.

As of today, I have switched from Splenda to either pure honey or cane sugar in my morning cup of green tea with ginger and lemon.. If you’re allergic to MSG like I am, you should be doing the same.

Knowledge is power.

Leave a Reply

