More Ginger, Please!

ginger-root-sliced_570

Previously, I posted an entry about how a single glass of ginger ale ended up being the antidote for a really bad bout of MSG poisoning I experienced last year. The symptoms were wiped out in less than a minute!

I recently picked up a packet of crystallized ginger from Trader Joe’s. The packet is pretty good sized and is a resealable zipper package (so you can carry it with you and keep it fresh), and it runs just $1.99. 

I’m not a big fan of the taste of pure ginger, it’s a bit too strong for me — so what I’ve been doing is adding a piece or two of the crystallized ginger to my daily cups of hot green tea. The ginger fabulously dissolves in the hot water. 

Adding more ginger to my diet has done wonders to relieving the pain and stiffness I experience in my legs daily due to arthritis. I began doing this about a week ago, and already I notice a tremendous improvement. People suffering from osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis have shown improved mobility and a reduction in pain by consuming ginger regularly.

Fresh ginger root

Ginger is a powerful, natural anti-inflammatory, due to its compounds called, gingerols. These compounds are proven in the relief of joint swelling, and in the reduction of stomach pain and nausea. One study claims that gingerols are even effective in the prevention of colorectal cancer, as well as promoting the death of ovarian cancer cells. 

For decades, Ginger has also been a reliable home remedy for nausea, vomiting, dizziness, cold sweats and motion sickness, and in the relief of intestinal gas.

I’ve added ginger to my diet twice daily through two cups of green tea and I’m amazed at how much better I feel in just a week!  If you’re not a tea drinker like me, you can add ginger to some of your favorite dishes, (it’s great sprinkled into rice) or perhaps make a batch of delicious ginger lemonade!
There are so many benefits to adding this wonderful spice to your diet.

Knowledge is power!

Leave a Reply

