The Facts About Peanut Butter and MSG

Let me begin by saying, I LOVE peanut butter. I’m not the type to eat it straight out of the jar or anything, but I love spreading it on warm toast and on crackers. This was THE MOST shocking thing I’ve discovered yet in my research of MSG In foods.

Basically, EVERY SINGLE brand of peanut butter on supermarket shelves contains MSG.

peanutbutter1
Skippy includes Soy additives — lethal to anyone with an MSG allergy.

As I’ve discussed in previous entries, MSG can be found hidden under several different names. I’ve also told you about the connection between seed-based oils and MSG.

I checked the ingredients of several different popular brands of peanut butter and found that ALL of them include such MSG-reaction-causing ingredients as hydrogenated vegetable oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated cottonseed oil, rapeseed oil, soy extract and wheat. Remember, ANY oils from seed can cause an MSG allergic reaction.

peanutbutter4
Wal-Mart’s Great Value Brand also adds sugar to its peanut butter.

 

Also to note, Planters Peanut Butter and Wal-Mart’s Great Value brand have sugar among their list of ingredients. Pretty important to note if you’re enjoying your peanut butter with already sweetened jam or jelly. Great Value notes the product also contains traces of wheat and soy — both known MSG allergy triggers.

If you have an MSG allergy and enjoy peanut butter as I do, it’s time to avoid the popular brands of peanut butter on the market and jettison them from your kitchen cabinet.

Here’s a list of the peanut butter brands to avoid, along with their MSG-connected ingredients.

Skippy: Corn syrup, soy protein concentrate, rapeseed oil, soybean oil.

Jif: Soybean oil, rapeseed oil, hydrogenated vegetable oil

Reese’s: Soybean oil, cottonseed oil, hydrogenated vegetable oil, rapeseed oil

Peter Pan: Hydrogenated vegetable oil, rapeseed oil, cottonseed oil

Planters: Hydrogenated vegetable oil, soybean oil, cottonseed oil.

Wal-Mart’s Great Value brand: Hydrogenated vegetable oil, soybean oil, rapeseed oil, traces of wheat and soy.

peanutbutter5
Justin’s Classic Peanut Butter

The “clean” brands of peanut butter to note, safe for us MSG allergic folks:

Costco’s Kirkland brand Peanut Butter
Earth Balance
Justin’s Classic
Smart Balance
Woodstock
A Loving Spoonful

kirkland peanutbutter
Simple, “clean” ingredients of peanuts and sea salt make Costco’s brand a winner and my personal favorite.

I highly recommend the Costco Kirkland brand. My best friend gave me a jar late last year. It’s simple, natural ingredients of peanuts and sea salt are enough of a reason to give it a try. The “old-fashioned” style of needing to mix the peanut oil into the peanuts is pretty nice too. Be sure to store your jar upside down to keep the oil distributed throughout the jar’s delicious contents.

You may, like me, eat peanut butter all the time and never experienced a MSG reaction. But it’s important to know that these ingredients are there.

From now on, I’m leaving the Skippy alone.

Knowledge is power.

Next: Your questions about MSG in foods answered.

